top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDallas Reese

The Old Pond

When I was a kid, I'd beg my grandfather to take me on walks down to the Old Pond on his property in Jefferson, SC. Looking at this photo of my grandparents Russell & Nell Demby Johnson standing at its edge in the late winter of 1961 brought back many warm memories, a small relic of a time that still lives in my mind. We had a reverence for the beauty of nature and a spiritual reverence for God's creation. There was peace in the woods and water. Then there was the strange dichotomy of a man and a boy who both liked to talk a LOT. Often we'd sit together on its banks, not exchanging words but in silent solitude. I distinctly remember those moments of unbroken harmony better than if we had spoken. But, of course, those moments never lasted long. By the time we stood up, we were talking a mile a minute. Well, it was mostly him. I listened much more then than now. And it was pure joy for a kid soaking up the words. Oh, to know that we know what we know and do not know what we do not know is true knowledge.

Dallas Reese

December 2022



32 views0 comments
bottom of page